The Spending Freeze

While touring Sparkle Girl’s Life’s blog hop, I came across an interesting post by Beautiful Kayekie in which she challenged herself to a 60-day buying ban.  At first, I admired her, because I knew I could never go two months without buying a beauty product.  But the more I thought about it, the more I welcomed the challenge.

I spend a lot of money (and time) on beauty shopping.  I have more makeup than I could ever use, and it lies neglected in my vanity for months on end.  I’ll admit I’ve gotten a little out of control, and it’s time to pull in the reins.  I’m hopping on the buying ban bandwagon!

My rules are similar to Kayekie’s:

  • No beauty purchases for 60 days – including hair styling products, nail polish, skin care, makeup, or freebies.
  • Refills on my existing daily use products are acceptable (moisturizer, cleansers, primer).
  • One week of hogwild buying freedom, starting today, before the ban begins.  I’M ONLY HUMAN.
  • Birchbox doesn’t count as a purchase, since it’s a subscription and I’ve already paid for it.
  • I’m free to add to a wish list, play with makeup in stores, and daydream about shopping as necessary.

Here we go.

I’m planning to pick up the Urban Decay Naked palettes this week, while I still can.  I’ve had them on the back burner for a while, and I know they’ll keep my attention while I’m “fasting”.

If you had one week left before a ban, what would you stock up on?

M

3 thoughts on “The Spending Freeze

  1. Hi M! I’m so proud of you for taking up a spending freeze, you go girl! And I’m so happy my challenge inspired you to do it, I think that’s fantastic. It was such a crazy thought to have, but turned into the best idea. I love your rules, it’s great to be able to give yourself something without cutting yourself off, it’s so difficult and miserable that way lol!

    I can’t wait to follow your journey! 😀

  2. Pingback: The Kick-Off | beststuffiknowabout

  3. Pingback: Butter at Coterie | beststuffiknowabout

Leave a Reply

