The Daily Sample: Perfekt Lash Perfection Gel

I got this Perfekt Lash Perfection Gel sample not knowing what to expect.  The description is completely nebulous – “A silky smooth color gel that “per-fekts” and enhances the appearance of the lashes offering an easy alternative to traditional mascara, lash primer, lash treatment, conditioner, and enhancer.”  What the hell is this miracle goo?

I wasn’t sure if it’s supposed to be colored or clear, but it seems to be a pretty standard black mascara.  I figured I’d try it alone, so I applied it over clean, curled lashes.  It coated them lightly, making them appear a little longer and darker, but not thicker at all.  Even weirder – it seemed to straighten out the curl in my lashes.  To rescue my stick-straight long black lashes, I re-curled and layered on some Benefit They’re Real mascara.  The result was a 1-and-a-half-coats-of-mascara look – not the drama and chunk potential of two coats, but not really a one coat natural look either.

Perfekt lash gel worked (decently) as a light first coat, but I can’t imagine using it for much else.  “Lash primer” makes sense.  “Lash treatment, conditioner and enhancer”… I’m not so sure about that.  On the plus side, it doesn’t flake or smudge too badly – but that may be since it’s barely there at all.

Lengthening Power: 3/5
Thickening Power: 0/5
Color: 5/5
Hold: 3/5
Longevity: 5/5
Price: $28.50 at Sephora
Value: 1/5

M

Leave a Reply

